S’mores Granola Bars

4 Dec

S'mores Granola Bars

I have been wanting for some time to try my hand at making granola bars. I buy them all of the time, why not make them. Oh my gosh you guys! These are the best! I could have eaten the whole pan full in one sitting. But I didn’t. I refrained. I even saved some for the children. 🙂 Since that was who I was making them for, right? Ok, ok I know that is bad. It is ok. They enjoyed them in their lunches this week. And wait I have different variations up my sleeve. In the mean time, what type of granola bars do you like? Fill me in! I want to hear!

S’mores Granola Bars

recipe adapted from Rachel Ray

Yield: 10 Servings

Prep Time: 15 minutes

Cook Time: 5 minutes

Total Time: 20 minutes

Ingredients:

4 tablespoons butter

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/8 cup honey

2 cups quick oats

1 cup crushed rice Chex Mix

1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

1/2 cup Jet Puffed Marshmallow Bits

Directions:

1. Melt butter, sugar and honey.

2. Boil till all sugar has dissolved.

3. Take off heat and add oats and Chex Mix to butter mixer.

4. Stir in chocolate chips and marshmallow bits.

5. Press into 9×13 ungreased pan.

6. Refrigerate for 5 minutes till set.

7. Cut and Enjoy!

These can be stored in a plastic covered container for up to a week (if they last that long!)

3 Responses to “S’mores Granola Bars”

  1. Baking is my passion February 10, 2013 at 5:44 pm #

    I too live in the suburbs of CLT, where did you ever find the jet puffed marshmallow bits? Have been looking for them everywhere! Please share! ❤

    • thebittersideofsweet February 10, 2013 at 7:12 pm #

      In our area you can usually find them at Food Lion, Dollar General or Walmart!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Honey Granola Bars | theBitterSideofSweet - December 5, 2012

    […] took the recipe from the S’mores granola bars that I made and I made them basic. These granola bars are going to be my basic bar when I need to […]

Leave a Reply

